Sunday, August 7, 2011

Elizabeth George

I imagine [he] kept his deepest and most heartfelt wish a secret . . . born as it was from the midnight joining of hope and fantasy.
From her 1993 novel, Playing For The Ashes.

George has written 16 novels featuring the fictional Scotland Yard detective Thomas Lynley, who happens to be the 8th Earl of Asherton.  Despite the veddy, veddy upper-class British setting and style of these books, George has lived almost her whole life in California.  These books transcend their genre -- especially What Came Before He Shot Her, which tells the story of the murder of Lynley's pregnant wife from the point of view of her murderer (a 12-year-old boy).

Elizabeth George

No comments:

Post a Comment